Low Carbs, No Carbs Or Just Carbs

It seems that everybody is either doing low carbs, no carbs or you have those of us who just ignore both and have carbs.

That conversation came up at work yesterday so immediately all those little light bulbs in my brain were lighting up!

Regardless here again I want to help others who are having to give up something to either embark on a new healthy eating plan and lifestyle or being forced to due to health issues. I’m such a Ms. Fixit at times but I believe it’s mainly that nurturing and mothering thing that has been lurking around on the inside of me ever since I was a child.

I just want to help people EAT and be healthy and not deprive themselves to the point of desperation. I’ve seen it many times and even in my own life where you spin your wheels adhering to a diet and its rules and regulations to tragically end in a binge. I’m no expert or professional by any means I just know the struggle and I just want to lend a helping hand and impart the small bit of wisdom I’ve learned throughout the years.

God has taken a disordered eating, high school gym drop out who could barely even squeak out a one mile run to someone who knows the freedom from those chains and disfunction’s. I look back at that girl and at times don’t recognize her but see how her struggles have led her to have a heart for people to live healthy, vibrant, disordered eating free lives.

I’m all too familiar with that desperation that comes from restriction diets. Point in case…. The Cabbage Soup Diet. I cant tell how many times I followed this diet growing up. Just typing those four words out sends shivers up my spine! Ok I’m being a little dramatic but I can remember well how desperate you felt everyday on that diet when you were allotted certain vegetables or fruit for the day. Sure it was fun eating eight bananas a day but that got old very quick and when baked potato day rolled around you felt like you had won the food lottery! 😊

My how I’m glad those torturous days of bad fad dieting are over! Thank you God at how you give us wisdom!

As you know I’m a big googler. I Google everything! A coworker and I were just discussing that today. What would we do without Google?

My latest google search was for a cauliflower pizza crust. Yes you heard me correctly, cauliflower. The search yielded quite a few so I improvised and pieced together my own and although it’s not the warm, chewy and doughy crust that warms your toes but it is one that will suffice if you are sacrificing carbs.

20120806-222825.jpg

2 cups finely chopped cauliflower ( steamed)
1/4 cup Daiya Cheddar cheese
1 flax egg ( 1 Tbsp flax meal + 1/4 cup water)
1 Tbsp oat flour ( ground oats)
1 tsp dried oregano
Garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste

After cauliflower has been steamed and drained mash together all above ingredients.

Form two small or one large “crust” on a non stick pan or a pizza stone which I think would work best.

Bake at 450 degrees until browned a bit approx 14-15 minutes.

Then proceed to be as creative as you wish and add your favorite toppings.

Pretty yummy and without the guilt!

Eating healthy doesn’t have to be hard, boring or tasteless I promise.

The low carb dilemma averted now on to another challenge…..

This was my question for today from a coworker.How do you make cookie dough healthy?

Don’t you just love the words cookie dough? Swoon! 😘

I told her it was possible and I’m surprising her with it tomorrow.

I wanted the best so I headed right on over to the expert… Angela at Oh She Glows…http://ohsheglows.com/2012/02/14/vegan-cookie-dough-freezer-fudge/

She has been a definite inspiration and life saver in my vegan transitioning.

This stuff is the bomb and has great health benefits but eating the entire batch wouldn’t be in your best interest but it certainly packs a more nutritious punch then the traditional store bought kind and it is vegan.

20120806-224503.jpg

Oh me oh my life is good and this blonde loving vegan food is having so much fun!

Lets take on Tuesday and bloom where we are planted.

By the way the non dairy cheesecake was a huge hit so that will definitely be one I will make again and again!

Heres to happy healthy eating! 😊

Leave a Reply

